The purposes of the International Society for Neurovascular Disease (ISNVD) are:

  • To promote communication, research, development, applications, and the availability of information on neurovascular and related neurodegenerative diseases such as multiple sclerosis internationally;
  • To develop and provide channels and facilities for continuing education and communication in the field, to publish and assist in the publishing of journals and other publications in the field;
  • To provide information and advice on those aspects of public policy which are concerned with neurovascular disease and other related topics, and otherwise to perform charitable, scientific and educational functions with respect to studying such diseases in terms of research and treatment;
  • To work with or for, and to co-operate with local, regional and national governments and governmental and private agencies, organizations, firms and institutions in efforts to accomplish one or more of the above purposes and
  • To ensure that scientists and clinicians working in the field have equal and fair opportunities to contribute to it.

The ISNVD is dedicated to the dissemination and review of new concepts in etiopathogenesis, novel diagnostics and modes of therapeutic treatment in the diseases of the neurovasculature. The society does not endorse specific products, treatment modalities or procedures but encourages the free exchange of information which may lead to peer reviewed research and clinical studies.

Executive Committee

President J. Steve Alexander, Ph.D.
President Elect Open
Vice President E. Mark Haacke, Ph.D.
Immediate Past President Salvatore Sclafani, M.D.
Executive Director/Treasurer
J. Steve Alexander, Ph.D.
Chair Annual Meeting Program Committee Pierfrancesco Veroux, M.D.
Assistant Chair of Annual Meeting Felicity Gavins, Ph.D.
Chairperson Hector Ferral, M.D.
Chairperson Robert Zivadinov, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairperson Paolo Zamboni, M.D.
Chairperson Michael Dake, M.D.
Chairperson Carol Schumacher, M.S.

Committee Chairpersons

Finance Committee Chair - Robert Zivadinov
Steve Alexander, Michael Dake and Hector Ferral
Governance Committee Vice Chair - Salvatore Sclafani
Carol Schumacher - Representative
Nominating Committee Chair - Salvatore Sclafani
Awards Committee Chair - Salvatore Sclafani
Paolo Zamboni, Miriam Simka, Alireza Minagar, Chih-Ping Chung and Nikolas Liaosis
Publications Committee Chair - Paolo Zamboni
Mark Haacke and Clive Beggs
Education Committee Chair - Adnan Siddiqui - Clinical and Clive Beggs - Basic Science
Karen Marr & Marcello Mancini
Section and Affiliations Committee Chair - Alireza Minagar 
Mat Damon, Marcello Mancini and Paul Thibault
Safety Committee Chair - Hector Ferral
Adnan Siddiqui and Pierfrancesco Veroux
Communications Committee Chair - Carol Schumacher
Sandy McDonald, Evie Tsati and Michelle Brown (non-member).
Membership Committee Chair - Michael Dake
Steve Alexander and Robert Zivadinov
Patient Advocate Committee Chair - Carol Schumacher
Annual Meeting Program Committee Chair - Pierfrancesco Veroux, M.D.; Vice Chair - Felicity Gavins
J. Steven Alexander, Ph.D.